'Til I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson {Book Review}

 **I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for consideration. All thoughts are my own.



When the man she loved years ago returns to town, one young woman’s complicated past rises again, threatening to expose her well-kept secrets.

If Maxine could put her finger on the moment when her life went into a tailspin, she would point back twenty years to the day her daddy died. She tells herself he’s the only person who ever really knew and loved her, and if he hadn’t left her behind, her future would’ve taken a different path. No absentee mother, no stepfather, no rebellious ripping and running during her teenage years. And no JD, who gave her wandering young heart a home, at least for a time.

But that’s over and done with. All grown-up now, Maxine has pledged her heart and ring finger to Theodore Charles, the man she’ll promise to love, honor, and obey in front of God and everybody. At least that’s what she’s telling anybody who will listen. The only folks buying it are the dog and the readers of her column, however. Her best friend and family aren’t having it―not even Celeste, the double bass–playing thirteen-year-old the community of Mount Laurel, North Carolina, believes is Maxine’s adopted sister. And apparently, neither is the newly returned JD, who seems intent on toppling Maxine’s reconstructed life. As her wedding day marches ever closer, Maxine confronts what it means to be really known and loved by examining what’s buried in her own heart and exposing truth that has never seen the light of day.

A Christian fiction novel with a poignant story of romance, a search for truth, and a journey to redemption. For fans of Chris Fabry, Lauren Denton, and Charles Martin.



Robin W. Pearson's A LONG TIME COMIN’ earned a 2020 Christy Award for First Novel. Both her debut and her second novel, 'TIL I WANT NO MORE (February 2021), earned a Publishers Weekly starred review. They show how man's timeless love affair with God affects day-to-day relationships. Robin's writing sprouts from her Southern roots, and she has corrected grammar up and down the East coast, starting with Houghton Mifflin Company. Her family’s faith, life lessons, and life’s longings inspire her as a wife, homeschooling mother of seven, and author, what she blogs about on https://robinwpearson.com/mommy-concentrated/. They're the source of all the characters living and breathing in the stories waiting to be told about her belief in Jesus Christ and the experiences at her own kitchen sink.


If you enjoy a story with southern charm and unique family dynamics, 'Til I Want No More might be right up your alley. In this second novel from author Robin W. Pearson we meet Maxine as she is preparing for her wedding to Theodore. Between her upcoming nuptials and the return of her ex, her carefully preserved secrets seem to be unraveling. It is a beautifully written story of family, redemption and who we are in Christ. 

While this is a beautifully written story, I must say it is a rather slow paced one. I struggled to get into the story just a bit in the beginning because of that slower pacing. While I do generally prefer quicker paced stories, I am glad I stuck this one out as I did enjoy it in the end... it just took a bit longer to get there. If you prefer those slower paced stories, you will definitely appreciate this one even more, I'm sure. I was surprised to discover that this was only the author's second novel, and it certainly had me excited to read more. 

Overall, a good read and one that fans of Christian fiction will want to check out. 




No comments

"Pleasant words are as a honeycomb: sweet to the soul and health to the bones." Proverbs 16:24